Religion determines which deities and holy figures a characters or a population believes in. The most basic level is the faith, whose doctrines and tenets determine its effects and laws. Each faith is categorized under a broader religion, which in turn falls under one of three religious families.

Religious Families

Each faith is part of a religious family, which determines how faith hostility is calculated. Some faiths have doctrines that consider other faiths with the same doctrine astray. There are also several tenets that modify faith hostility.

FamilyDifferent Religious FamiliesDifferent ReligionsDifferent FaithsSusceptible to Heresy
EasternHostileAstrayAstrayOnly Zoroastrianism 

Faith Hostility

Each faith has a negative view of every other faith; how negative the effects are depends on the religious family. Faiths with the pluralist doctrine have these penalties halved, while the Fundamentalist doctrine doubles the penalties.

ViewCharacter OpinionPopular OpinionIntermarriageTitle UsurpationHoly WarsDescription
Righteous00YesYesNoThis Faith is considered legitimate.
Astray-10-15YesYesNoThis Faith differs in a way that is not particularly significant.
Hostile-20-30YesNoYesThis Faith deviates significantly.
Evil-30-45NoNoYesThis Faith is considered anathema.

Faith Organization

Faith organization describes how organized each faith is. Faiths can be divided into organized and unreformed, each having advantages but also some drawbacks. Most Pagan faiths start unreformed, while all Abrahamic and Eastern faiths start organized.

Adopt Feudal / Clan ways decisionYesNo
Opinion with Feudal, Republic and Clan Vassals0-20
Monthly Prestige0+20%
Conversion Cost to Unreformed Faiths+500%0
Conquest Casus BelliNoYes
Pagan combat advantage0+10
Faith creationNew FaithsReformation

Virtues and Sins

Virtues and sins are traits which a religion or faith considers virtuous or sinful. Some tenets will add great virtues or great sins, which have a double effect.

TraitSame Faith OpinionMonthly Piety
Great Virtue+20+2
Great Sin-20-2


Religions have two main effects. First, each religion has a baseline set of sins and virtues. Second, the religion determines which men-at-arms its holy orders will favor. A faith’s tenets can add traits considered sins and virtues, replacing some of the original ones if they happen to conflict.

Holy Sites

Holy sites are titles that are considered sacred by a faith. If a faith controls a holy site, all characters belonging to that faith will gain a bonus. For most religions, all faiths have the same holy sites. Most religions have 5 holy sites per faith, but a few have more. All Abrahamic faiths share Jerusalem as a holy site.